Foot Locker Cross Country Championships

Shop Foot Locker | Nike Running
Home | Girls Results | Girls Pix | Boys Results | Boys Pix |
Home | 2003 Results | 2003 Race Photos | 2003 Athlete Bios | 2003 Finalists | All-time Best Boys | All-time Best Girls
Home | 2003 Results | 2003 Race Photos | 2003 Athlete Bios | 2003 Finalists | All-time Best |
Home | 2003 Results | 2003 Race Photos | 2003 Athlete Bios | 2003 Finalists | All-time Best |
Home | 2003 Race Photos | 2003 Athlete Bios | 2003 Finalists |

2003 National Finals

small logo

Clean sweep for the Midwest as Withrow and Kaltenbach win individual titles and boys and girls take home team medals.


Girls Results
31 Katelyn Kaltenbach 17:23.2
44 Marie Lawrence 17:25
21 Jennifer Barringer 17:35
36 Katie Harrington 17:39
33 Sunni Olding 17:42
32 Ramsey Kavan 17:47
11 Nicole Blood 17:48
41 Zoe Nelson 17:49
15 Frances Koons 17:52
34 Racheal Marchand 17:53
Very few races in the 25 year history of the championships had as many lead changes as there were in the girls race. Nicole Blood was an early leader with Jennifer Barringer making an early statement as well. Blood, and Barringer battled through the mile mark where a tight pack that included Sunni Olding and Marie Lawrence went through at 5:24. Last year's champion Zoe Nelson had dropped dropped back into 8th place but worked back up to the lead by the halfway point. Controlling the course at the two-mile mark was a pack of eight runners with no dominant leader, including Barringer, Kaltenbach, Marie Lawrence of Reno, Nev., and defending National Champion Zoe Nelson of Kalispell, Mont.  With a quarter-mile to go, Lawrence pulled ahead, with Kaltenbach leading the pack chasing closely behind.  With 100 meter left, Lawrence and Kaltenbach were side-by-side when Lawrence flew ahead to a 10 meter lead as they came downhill.  She remained in the lead until the final stretch when Kaltenbach surged past to claim the first place position in 17:24.

Complete girls resultsVideo



Boys Results
81 Matthew Withrow 14:55
93 Galen Rupp 14:57
91 Shadrack Kiptoo 14:58
64 Joshua McDougal 15:01
61 Benjamin True 15:02
82 Ryan Deak 15:13
86 Christian Wagner 15:14
94 Stuart Eagon 15:19
62 Victor Gras 15:21
83 Garrett Heath 15:22
A fast start ruled the day as the field went through the 800m in 2:15. Galen Rupp from the West took command of the pack at the 1600m mark, going through at 4:43. Shadrack Kiptoo and Rupp exchanged the lead several times in the next mile with Ryan Deak, Matt Withrow and Joshua McDougal in the hunt. Just after the two mile mark, Withrow made a move which was answered by both Rupp and Kiptoo. In the next 1200m Rupp and Kiptoo battled for the lead. With about 300m to go Withrow made a tremendous kick, taking the lead and opening about 5 meters on Kiptoo. He held the lead with Rupp and Kiptoo going down to the wire for second place. Was it all guts that got Withrow the lead? "It must have been guts," answered Withrow, adding "because it sure wasn't strength."

Complete boys resultsVIDEO

Foot Locker Cross Country announces the first inductees to the Foot Locker Cross Country Hall of Fame.

Through the years, national champions, olympians and stars of the sport have toed the line at the Foot Locker National Championships. In celebration of its 25 th anniversary, Foot Locker has created a special award to honor two of these athletes, who we are so proud to have in our ranks. Through a voting process, which included input from staff, media and supporters of the event, Foot Locker is naming the first two members one male and one female to the Foot Locker Cross Country Hall of Fame. Suzy Favor Hamilton and Bob Kennedy have been named as the first inductees to the Foot Locker Cross Country Hall of Fame.    Complete story

The only 4 high school sub-4 milers meet for the first time to celebrate the 25th Anniversary of the Foot Locker Cross Country Championships.

The four men, Jim Ryun, the first high school runner to run a sub four-minute mile in 1964 (3:59, record of 3:55 in 1965), Alan Webb, current high school mile record holder (3:53, 2001), along with Tim Danielson (3:59, 1966) and Marty Liquori (3:59, 1967) have never appeared together as a group until now. They are gathering to provide inspiration and support to the 64 elite high school runners who are competing in the 25th annual Foot Locker Cross Country Championships National Finals.  Complete story